PDA

View Full Version : Confused - which course

Christine64
19-01-2011, 12:55 PM
Hi everyone, I am a newbie and so confused.
I want to register as a childminder and live in Gilwern, near Abergavenny. The CSSIW have said i must complete the ICP in order to register. The local NCMA guy says there are no courses in the area until April but i could do an online course from the NEC. I have googled ICP and an now confused - is this still the right course or should i be doing the diploma in home based childcare unit 1?
I already have an NNEB but CSSIW insist i have to do the ICP which is available online
PLease help????
thanks

Laura233
19-01-2011, 01:00 PM
Hi everyone, I am a newbie and so confused.
I want to register as a childminder and live in Gilwern, near Abergavenny. The CSSIW have said i must complete the ICP in order to register. The local NCMA guy says there are no courses in the area until April but i could do an online course from the NEC. I have googled ICP and an now confused - is this still the right course or should i be doing the diploma in home based childcare unit 1?
I already have an NNEB but CSSIW insist i have to do the ICP which is available online
PLease help????
thanks

I did my course through the NEC, the ICP and DHC are the same course, the ICP is unit 1 of the Diploma. You might not be able to do this anymore as it is all changing but not sure as things are different in Wales.

Ring the NEC and see what they say but you should be able to do it through the NEC, its about £200 from memory but if you sit and focus on it you should be able to get it done before April.

Good luck!

aly
19-01-2011, 01:49 PM
mumk of a little one i mind is going throught he process, she had her briefing session on monday and the icp wont start until March....I would sit tight unless you want to pya £200??..I wouldnt want to especially if its free when you do it in april.

tulip0803
20-01-2011, 05:10 PM