PDA

View Full Version : a very miserable new minder

kazc28
07-01-2011, 08:16 PM
hi im new to minding i have been registered since june however due to work commitments i struggled to find children to care for on specific days, eventually i did and signed contracts, however the day b4 due to start i broke my knee so set back a number off weeks untill fit to start. I have been minding a little boy 12mths every friday for 4-5 weeks and quite frankly he is a lovely boy but everytime he is in the house he screams he wont eat sleep or drink he distresses my children even though i have explained that it is nothing to worry about, I have founf he is better out side which helps but i cannot be out all day. I am finding caring for him really hard, i worked hard to begin minding but feel a complete failure and keep asking myself is this really what i want to do, at the moment i dread every friday and feel miserable each friday evening because i feel i have failed the little boy and his mum. He is lovely when he is happy but that is just not often, I am worrying too because ofsted have not visited yet and i know i wont get a good grade because we cannot do activities in the house, help:(

funemnx
07-01-2011, 08:22 PM
So sorry to here that your 1st experience has not been a positive one - they aren't all like that, honest! I've had babies 1 day a week before and it does take them longer to settle than more regular babies - hopefully he'll get easier the older he gets - hugs ((())) xx

mufftie
07-01-2011, 08:23 PM
oh dear , they are not all like that i can assure you , minding just once aweek is not really enough for you to forge a bond with a child so young , is it not possible you could suggest maybe more hours so he gets used to you more ? i do wish you luck though as it is hard having a screamer

Zoomie
07-01-2011, 09:18 PM