PDA

View Full Version : Potty training

snufflepuff
04-01-2011, 03:26 PM
HELP!

Mindees Mum just told me they are starting potty training in a few weeks. (Daddy looked it up in a parenting book and he says she is ready, lol!) She is 18 months old. She is quite intelligent, she likes to sit on my sons potty while clothed and will say wee and poo. She has never told me she has been or is about to go but Mum says she does this at home sometimes.

I am putting together some info for her (she seems keen to have my advice and also I want to set the 'ground rules' from the start) so I wondered if there is anything you think I should put in there? Any tips? Rules that I should set down and make clear?! I have never done this before so I could really do with some help from seasoned potty trainers please?!

My other mindee is 23 months and not yet ready for potty training but I just KNOW that if Mum notices my other mindee is out of nappies (and that i'm also starting with my son soon) she will start potty training her LO- she cannot bear her LO being 'behind' as she puts it.

God help me, 2 mindees and my son at the same time.

funemnx
04-01-2011, 03:36 PM
By all means give them advice and encouragement but normally a childminder will request some sign of success ie that the child has been using the potty at home for at least a long weekend (that means no nappies at all from waking to bed). You can then step in and support the child by continuing what has already been started.

I say this because in my experience, some parents will bring child in a nappy, expecting you to potty train during the day but use nappies the rest of the time, which is confusing for the child and slows down the learning process!

Good luck :thumbsup:

gigglinggoblin
04-01-2011, 03:56 PM