PDA

View Full Version : How to you work mindee pick ups & charges?

acorns
12-12-2010, 10:19 PM
I have some parents who are quite keen on comnig to me with 5mo baby, despite needing to get 2 buses and a 1 hour journey to reach me:eek: I am considering offering to pick up(dad can collect in car) lo as it would fit in quite well with my day (about 10/15min car ride). But I've never done this before and was wondering if I should charge from the time i leave home just my normal hourly rate, or my hourly rate plus something to cover 'expenses' (40p per mile) or don't charge my hourly rate and only charge to cover my expenses. not really sure if it's ethical to charge normal rate as I don't have mindee in my care at that time but it's for them that i'm making the journey. I'd like to know what others do or would do in this situation. ta very muchly

Noomie
12-12-2010, 11:21 PM
I charge from when I leave for any school pick ups, home, school or otherwise. It usually works out anyway. Eg, I charge from 3 until 6 (3 hours) for my after schoolie who I pick up at 3.10pm)

It's a service after all.

youarewhatyoueat
12-12-2010, 11:24 PM
Of course you would charge from when you leave home, and charge a rate that covers your fuel as you shouldn't charge extra for it as then its different insurance. You could decide a set pick up fee of say £10 up to the normal start time, or just what you are happy with.
But make sure it fits in with you, and make sure if the weather is bad and you can't get there or the car breaks down everyone knows who's getting paid or not.
How come it takes an hour to cover a 10 minute drive I could walk quicker than that!!

tulip0803
12-12-2010, 11:51 PM
I quoted a higher daily/hourly rate when asked the same question. If it is local I do not charge just put through expences. I also charge from time I leave home.