PDA

View Full Version : Does minding affect your relationship with OH?

buzzy bee
08-12-2010, 07:19 AM
I'm fairly new to minding, and am now working til 6.30 4 days a week.

OH gets home at 5.30 and that used to be our chill out time with DS (1 yr) where we'd all play together and wind down.

Now OH comes home to a house full of kids and it's starting to get to him.

The thing is, even if I stopped the school run, I'd still have 1 or 2 other children until 6.30.

How do you all deal with this?

I'm starting to miss our family time too. By the time the children all leave it's DS's bedtime :(

suzyblue
08-12-2010, 07:47 AM
My Ex used to sit in the car on the drive till all the kids went home!
My partner now lives in his own house because he wouldnt be able to deal with it. If we want to live together I will have to change jobs!

Alibali
08-12-2010, 09:01 AM
I changed my finishing time till 5.30, it helps slightly

buzzy bee
08-12-2010, 09:16 AM
I changed my finishing time till 5.30, it helps slightly

I can't do that without literally losing every single one of my mindees, cos all their parents finish work at 6!

wendywu
08-12-2010, 09:42 AM
They just have to learn to live with it. If you were a nurse you would be working shift and weekends and BH. Every job has its down sides.
:(
But on the other hand the money is good and you can be there for your own children. :)

I just ignore mine when he moans :rolleyes:

FussyElmo
08-12-2010, 09:57 AM
I was a cm before I meet dh so he has had to learn to live with it.

When he does moan I just offer to finish and be a SAHM he soon shuts up as we need the money coming in :thumbsup:

Chimps Childminding
08-12-2010, 10:06 AM