PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed

anthea jane
19-11-2010, 11:28 AM
Hi

I have been working as a childminding assistant for nearly 2 yrs now, but I recently decided to become a registered childminder myself so I could mind from my own home, I have just completed the briefing sessions, filled in all the forms, doctors got the medical form ect.. ect... All seemed to be going well, til today!! Phoned letting agents as I need to get their permission, well they have refused!!!!
Can anyone give me any advice on what to do next ??
Can I appeal? shall I still go ahead with the ofsted insection (obviously will tell them I won't start minding til got permission to do so or have moved)

Anthea

blue bear
21-11-2010, 04:24 PM
Is it a big letting agency or an individual, can't really see how you could register without permission. I would write explaining what you plan to do, general day, how many children, how it will affect use of house etc and see if they change their mind, but without permission you are stuck.

good luck x.

Blaze
21-11-2010, 04:37 PM
Most will refuse on the basis that it is running a business from the property which isn't allowed. You need to explain that CMing has a different set of rules & doesn't fall under this clause - usually if you come at them will well researched info they allow you to proceed - however it isn't guarenteed.
HTH:)

Penny1959
21-11-2010, 05:26 PM
My daughter is a childminder and has childminded at 3 different rented properties.

As Blaze has suggested you need to explain what is involved in becoming a childminder and state all the benefits - ie seperate insurance, ofsted inspection, supervision, safe environment etc. Try to think about all the things a landlord might be worried about (may imagine 100's of children running wild and damaging his property!!).

Ask him to put in writing his objections and reasons for refusal.