PDA

View Full Version : REGISTRATION: NUMBER oF KIDS UNDER 5

tracyanne
12-04-2008, 11:46 AM
Hi there,

I am seriously looking into starting my own childminding business. I am however, doing things a bit different than usual as I hope my business will grow into a nursery (if I ever get enough cash together to put a deposit down on a house!!). I only want to cater for 3 to 5 year olds as I am studying a Pre School Diploma and it is this age group that I am passionate about educating!

I have worked out a business plan, and in order to make this financially viable I need 2 assistants ( 8 kids + my daughter) - my only other option is 6 kids + 1 assistant but my daughter would have to remain in her nursery then (so that I still recieve tax credits as opposed to not - I am a single mum) and as I believe my education will be more beneficial to my daughter (being more 'wholistically' inclined), this would be such a pity!!!

So my big question is.. does anybody have 2 assistants? Does anybody have 9 children under 5? Does anyone think Ofsted will accept such a proposal? I know space is an issue as well, so I am looking for a house with 2 big receptions (approximate size 25 squared meters).. the big risk is that I get the house based on 9 children (under 5) and then I don't get the numbers from Ofsted for registration.. Any advice would be greatly appriciated!:D (Please note I have posted this on the registration section as well as it pertains to both)

tracyanne
12-04-2008, 11:48 AM
Tracy, I have merged your threads so we don't lose Pauline's words of wisdom :D

katickles
12-04-2008, 11:52 AM
Sorry - I can't help you with this one but didn't want to read & run with out saying good luck!

I'm sure that somebody will be along soon that can help - or you could always ring ofsted for there advice?!? :)

Pauline
12-04-2008, 12:08 PM