PDA

View Full Version : Parent set on me babysitting

phoebe-alice
12-11-2010, 11:10 AM
I've been working for a parent for about 6 months now and things have always been a bit rocky but now, the dreaded question came up can you do babysitting....

Which I already explained my insurance does not cover me caring for her children in her own home. But no thats not enough shes been looking up loopholes and everything. And to be honest as well as me not being covered I prefer being in my own home I don't drive as yet I have no way of getting back and forth and I don't fancy a 3 mile walk in the early hours.

I said no why can't she just leave it. :angry: Just had a text saying she will employ me as a babysitter on the night not a childminder, yet I am still clearly a childminder not a babysitter and don't fancy it either. When I'm in my own home I know where everything is and can relax!

Oh well rant over, anybody got any tips on how I can show its a complete no? :rolleyes: Thanks guys

caz3007
12-11-2010, 11:32 AM
If you dont want to do it, then tell her you dont offer a babysitting service and dont work evenings. Your hours are x till x and thats it

kindredspirits
12-11-2010, 11:32 AM
just say 'no you are not happy to work without insurance' and you are not available in the evenings.

pinkbutterfly
12-11-2010, 11:38 AM
You could have just said a straight no without making any excuses about the insurance.
In fact NCMA insurance (if you're with them) does cover you for babysitting but you have to use their babysitting checklist and riskasses her house.

phoebe-alice
12-11-2010, 11:50 AM
I'm Scotland so I think the companies are different up here, I rang them yesterday to make sure anyway and I wasn't covered. So not going to take any risks.