PDA

View Full Version : Advice and all opinions please weekend CM

Gunwallow
10-11-2010, 03:06 PM
Hello. I spent many (many) years as a childminder before training to become a teacher. I left that to raise a family and worked as a respite carer for over ten years. I now work as a PA.......I get paid well but hate it! I miss so much working with children. So, I am seriously considering childminding again. A few questions if I may -

1. I am considering starting out as a weekend childminder, and advertising in addition to this that I can do special needs child care, respite care at weekend, do you think this would be something parents would want?

2. Is it odd for a childminder to be (somewhat!) mature with her own children grown?

Views invited please.....:)

Ripeberry
10-11-2010, 05:28 PM
I'm sure there are plenty of people out there who would snap you up! Especially if you did weekend care and overnight.

It's not odd to be a childminder of a certain age :D I'm over the hill already :blush: and I've only recently registered.

Good luck in what you decide.

jane5
10-11-2010, 05:48 PM
I went to a meeting last night about government funding to get childminders to take on children with special needs and disabilities.
My council are crying out to get cm signed up as there is so much demand.

Phone your local council and see if they are doing any thing similar.

I am also "mature" with my eldest 25, 22, 21 and 17, but have got a lo 2yrs.

Nothing can beat experience :thumbsup:

miffy
10-11-2010, 06:19 PM
I'm sure there would be a huge demand for respite care at the weekends - why don't you contact your local SS and enquire?

Miffy xx

PixiePetal
10-11-2010, 06:23 PM
I think it sounds a great idea if there is a call for it near you.

I am quite mature at 45, although friends would say I am just a big kid! My kids are 16 and 14 - started on motherhood a little later than some :rolleyes:

karen m
10-11-2010, 07:05 PM