PDA

View Full Version : Problems with minding friends children

sarahb3006
08-11-2010, 02:07 PM
:( Hi, I'm new to this so you'll have to excuse any mistakes.
I started childminding a few months ago, I look after my friends 2 children one day a week when their own cm doesn't work. I'm beginning to think that it wasn't a good idea. I have 2 of my own and my oldest is copying what her friend is doing which is normally not very nice and my 2 yr old is being pushed and scratched by the younger one, so much she spends a lot of the day crying which i don't think is fair.
Sorry to go on, not sure what to do
Sarahb3006

Goatgirl
08-11-2010, 02:24 PM
Hi :),
Sorry to hear the trouble you're having... what have you tried regarding managing their behaviour? Is it help to do that you're asking for? Have you explained the issues to the parent?

If you have tried lots and are not having any success, then maybe just give notice.... :(. Not an easy decision to make but you'll be so relieved once you don't have the hassle any more.

Bws,
Wendy

Pipsqueak
08-11-2010, 02:38 PM
It can work out for some - caring for friends kids.

Anyway, same question as florabird - what are you doing about behaviour management. Are you distracting, diverting, disciplining these children are you would yours/other minded children. Are there patterns to it? Have you mentioned it to the mum?

If you feel you cannot instill some behaviour management techniques because these are you friends children then you are either going to have to cancel the contract or put up - which is not fair on your children.

If these children are being nasty to yours in your kids own home then its time to take action - you cannot leave these kids alone for a second - if they cannot behave nicely then they have to stick with you - even if you leave the room. Ideally you need their parents onboard for it to work.

Mouse
08-11-2010, 03:04 PM