PDA

View Full Version : Working with husband/partner

nokidshere
19-10-2010, 11:39 AM
There is a possibility of my husband being made redundant in next 12 months :(

He is totally at home with babies and children and, just as an option, we are considering him working with me. At the moment I only work before and after school with children aged 7+

So if we were to go down the route of having younger children during the day would it be better to have him registered as a childminder in his own right or registered as my assistant?

Advice from anyone who works with their partner or an assistant would be very helpful - many thanks.

SaijaM
19-10-2010, 11:47 AM
Hi!

Sorry to hear about your husband being made redundant... :(

I'm no expert and have been minding only a while, but I've registered my husband as my assistant and he is helping me once in a while.. In the future I hope he will give up his full time job and work with me :) As we love to work together as well as be partners!
I think you just need to remember that you will be together at all times! We met working together anyhow, so we are used to it and know what the reality is.. and for me it's lovely times!

I'm sure you get better replies...

Good luck with it all xx
Saija

Mrs.L.C
19-10-2010, 05:21 PM
When Hubby started working with me we talked about the pro and cons about registering in his own right or being an assistant and chose to stick with being an assistant to keep costs down.

If he registered in his own right we would have double the Ofsted fees, double inspections (not sure about insurance) and he would have to do the 12 hours induction which was hard to get on round here