PDA

View Full Version : Do you all belong to a childminding network .. or not?

SaijaM
15-10-2010, 12:09 PM
Hi all,

Just wondering if you belong to a childminding network or not...? Has it been good / bad / ugly?

I'm in a process of joining one in my area, but been chasing the network coordinator for my meeting for ages ... so my starting point is already frustrating and don't feel that the support is there since the start!

How can they be supportive if they can't be bothered to even have your initial assessment meeting arranged...

Does it matter much to Ofsted if you are in one? Hmmm.. I'm not sure.
Need your advice! :)

happydays1
15-10-2010, 12:14 PM
Hi i have not long joined a network, i have been minding for 2 1/2 years and didnt join before because i heard some stories about it being clicky etc and im not that sort of person.After chatting with the co-ordinator decided to join and see and im glad i did, the support we get is outstanding and defiantly dont have to chase them.:)

green puppy
15-10-2010, 12:15 PM
I joined mine not long ago, really for the extra training seesions you have access to and for the free resources they were offering at the time! Recently had ecat training that I couldn't have done if I hadn't joined.

venus89
15-10-2010, 12:19 PM
I'm really glad I did. As the others say the extra support and training are brilliant, plus they've now assigned me as an EYFS mentor and are supporting me through EYPS.

There is more work to do as we have to attend x amount of CPD per year but I like that - the training sessions give me more ideas to use in my work. And the coordinator coming round also means more work (she usually leaves me some homework!) but again that benefits my work, which benefits my LOs.

I think probably it would be a plus from Ofsted's point of view, not least because of the regular training.

hayleychildcare
15-10-2010, 12:21 PM
Im NOT a member.