PDA

View Full Version : Advice about baby

JCrakers
12-10-2010, 10:20 AM
Hi, I have visited the forum before but couldnt remember my name and Ive changed my email address since so im back as a newbie for a bit of advice.
Ive been childminding for 3 yrs and looking after chilren for 17yrs(makes me feel old) Hope ive posted in right section :blush:

I have a baby aged 8m who started 4weeks ago. I have her sister also who has been coming 18months. Baby is lovely, very happy when we are out at toddlers,park etc. Drinks her milk when we are out, no problem.
As soon as we arrive back she screams and screams and screams...nothing I can do...ive tried everything. She wont drink her milk in the house or eat anything. She screams like she is being murdered. Ive ruled out any pain...I also have two other kiddies so going out all the time is not an option as they need to sleep.

Now after 4 weeks of this ive put this down to stubborness. She doesnt want to be fed by me and shes not giving in!!!
When she was younger she wouldnt be fed by anyone else and if anyone came in while she was in bath/nappy/fed she would scream. Parents say she is now better at home but she seems to have regressed when she comes to me.

Ive looked after a lot of babies and usually a cuddle, a nappy change, walk around, a sleep, a play etc will calm them and after about 2 days they are settled with me. 8m is a funny age for separation anxiety and strangers but after 4 weeks.....PHEW...Im knackered...LOL :(

Do I give in....or do i keep going? If I lose her I also lose her sister.
Mums coming round later to feed her cause she has day off but she cant do this everyday, twice a day!!!

Thanks for listening...Becky xx

Pipsqueak
12-10-2010, 12:06 PM
Hi ya Becky - welcome (back) to the forum!!!:D