PDA

View Full Version : concerned???

zald
13-08-2010, 06:14 PM
Hi everyone ! im new to this forum but it looks fab , so much support ! at the moment im doing my training to become a childminder , im really passionate about becoming one and working with children :) i love spending time with my friends and their children but as of yet i have no experience actually working with children , i currently work as a carer for the elderley, so i wondered if my lack of experience could go against me ? :(

funemnx
13-08-2010, 07:16 PM
The fact that you care will go a long way, enjoy the journey, it's a fab job :thumbsup:

claire'scherubs
13-08-2010, 08:04 PM
Hi

Don't be worrying, I had 15 years in retail management before I decided to do this. Nobody questioned it, I have mindees and my first inspection I got a good, and to top it off, I love my job!!!

celdemorg
13-08-2010, 08:40 PM
I worked in an office for 20 years before i started minding, god 20 yrs that makes me feel old.:eek: :eek:

I was like you just loved being with children, other peoples and my own, you'll be fine xxx:)

zald
13-08-2010, 10:30 PM
Thanks so much for the replys i feel better now ! :) i just want to make sure i have all the correct policys and procedures in place for my first visit :panic: any tips ???

maisiemog
14-08-2010, 08:10 AM
Ditto that. I had no childcare experience. I worked in care as well, but with learning disabilities. Ofsted actually said it wasn't really an issue. And the fact I had worked in care went in my favour, proved I was good at looking after people!

gigglinggoblin
14-08-2010, 09:09 AM
If you are worried you could always ask a local nursery if you could help out for a couple of hours a week. As we are all working under EYFS it might give you some good tips aswell as giving you experience working in a childcare setting.

zald
14-08-2010, 09:24 AM