PDA

View Full Version : cutting hours from full time to 2 days

Alibali
02-04-2008, 08:39 PM
Hi,

Just wondering if you have all been through this and what you did. Parents came in today and told me that the LO I have been minding full time for 2 years will be cutting down to 2 days. They have been very kind and appreciate that this will be quite a drop in fees for me and have asked if I will still look after him or if I need another full timer. I've only ever had full timers and am worried that I won't be able to fill other 3 days. Any comments appreciated.

Ali :)

berkschick
02-04-2008, 08:43 PM
I was worried about this when I first started.

I now have 9 part timers on my books!

G does 27 hours, M 19, I 13, E 10.5, J 7.5, Twins 8, C 5.5 and J 6 (phew!)

It is working fine.

And I am safe in the knowledge that if one leaves, its not a total disaster money wise for me.

Also no two days are the same as I never have the same mix of kids!

littletreasures
02-04-2008, 08:44 PM
I have one full timer at the moment and 2 part timers. They are 3 days and 1 1/2 days. I have also had enquiries for 4 days a week and 3 days although I couldn't help them out.

I think it is possible to get part timers to suit your setting. Start advertising now wherever you can. I was lucky the enquiries I got were teachers going back after having the babies and deciding they don't want to do full time.

Good luck

littletreasures

mum2two
02-04-2008, 08:46 PM
I find it always works itself out.

I have J 4 days a week, not Thurs, and H 4 morns a week, not Fri. Never thought I'd fill them. Then I had a lady come to see me, & I have K all day Thurs & Fri, and one pm.

At the end of the day, you have to decide what works for you, and what you can afford. The rest will work itself out!

Hopefully you'll get an enquiry to put your mind at rest & make the decision for you!

Kelly x

sarah707
02-04-2008, 09:15 PM