PDA

View Full Version : Have I given in too soon with this 6 year old?

skytvaddict
22-07-2010, 03:03 PM
I want to write this as sensitively as possible - I took on a 6 year old boy who is on the spectrum for autism and adhd, I have no immediate experience of this other than through a friend's daughter who I have looked after ok.

I am a fairly new CM, did a short term contract as it is only for holiday care, he started today.

Well, to say he was challenging is an understatement. My own two los (3 and 2 years old) didn't get a look in, he was aggresive with them sometimes and shouted A LOT. I have him again tomorrow but also have an 11 month old baby.

I have told the 6 year olds mum when she picked him up that I am not sure I am the right CM for him as I don't think the other los in my care will be getting enough attention as her DS is claiming it all. I also had a yr6 boy today who said after the 6 year old had left " phew, quiet at last" - and that is saying something when we still have a 3 and 2 year old here!

I am feeling a little guilty I suppose and have said he can come tomorrow and I will see how it goes with the baby here as well. At least his mum knows I may not have him again after that!

Just wanted to get a few opinions - have I done the right thing?

Carol M
22-07-2010, 04:10 PM
It can be very hard for a child on the spectrum to adjust to a new situation, just as it's hard for you. Do you know much about his previous care , has he been to other settings if so what was he like there? What was mums reaction when you talked today? You obviously have to consider the other children in your care and you were right to talk to mum.Did you meet him prior to him starting ?
Don't feel guilty you have to do whats right for you
Carol x

Hebs
22-07-2010, 04:27 PM
Hi,

I have a son with ADHD and it is true that they can take a while to settle down into a new routine, (can take my son a month or so to settle back into school after the summer holidays!!!)