PDA

View Full Version : Where do you get your business from?

Tealady
15-07-2010, 11:46 PM
I have been minding since June 2008. I haven't had loads of mindees as I fell pregnant Jan 2009 and so have kept my numbers low. From September I will be down to one mindee who will come for four before school sessions a week.

I do live in an area with a lot of childminders but I used to get a fair few enquiries (not that I could accomodate them all) I am now, however, not really getting any. I am on directgov, families info service, here, childcare.co.uk & netmums. My daughter starts school in September and I have left my details with them also. I have also had a poster in the local shop.

I need to get some more business or else it will not be worth my carrying on. It will be a shame as on the whole I have enjoyed being a childminder and although one family has made me want to throw in the towel I have enjoyed working with the other families.

What advertising tactics have worked for you?

mama2three
16-07-2010, 06:11 AM
the vast majority of my enquiries have been word of mouth , passed on by other minders etc. There are a few minders in our village and we all get together at cm group , and if we hear of an enquiry we tend to pass on to the minder who can do it..
I have had one enquiry through netmums , but none at all from local posters / advertising.

manjay
16-07-2010, 06:42 AM
All mine are word of mouth or passed on from the other 2 minders in my village. I have a website which is more for me to direct prospective parents to when they have enquired but I don't advertise anywhere else. We live in a very small community and I think you would have to be blind to live here and not know I am a childminder. I always wear my polo shirt with my logo on and I attend all the school, nursery and playgroup functions.