PDA

View Full Version : I keep loosing mindees

Wizbit80
21-06-2010, 08:07 PM
hi i am so gutted i have been childminding for 2 years and i have had 6 kids through here already and 4 have left:

1. left as mum quit job to become childminder
2. left as parents and I had difference of opinion on childrens illnesses
3. left as parents did not want to pay full days pay, as hours increased to 11 hour day charged £35, they wanted £25 - i said no
4. parents went from 5 full afternoons to 2.5 as change in parents hours, left and they were lovely, very grateful and upset at having to go.

i stll have 1 family thank god, only 1 of the parents left in bad ish terms, which i hated, all others wrote excellent references and were delighted with care i gave their children.

is childminding alway like this????? mindees coming and going like that :panic:

miffy
21-06-2010, 08:14 PM
is childminding alway like this????? mindees coming and going like that :panic:

Not always but I think these days parents have far more choice of childcare so that can affect things as can the job market/recession.

At least you know that the parents who've left have been happy with the care you've given their children and that's what counts.

Hope you get some more enquiries soon

Miffy xx

Wizbit80
21-06-2010, 08:29 PM
Not always but I think these days parents have far more choice of childcare so that can affect things as can the job market/recession.

At least you know that the parents who've left have been happy with the care you've given their children and that's what counts.

Hope you get some more enquiries soon

Miffy xx

thanks miffy!

the parents do seem happy and recommend me to others, just cant help feeling tis me or my charges that are putting people off.

I charge £3.50 per hour, £15 daily rate for school pick ups from 1-6 with snacks included and £25 a day rate for full timers - i dont think thats excessive :(

positive vibes - i will get more mindees who stay:clapping:

Rubybubbles