PDA

View Full Version : snacks??

mushpea
13-06-2010, 02:24 PM
what do you all give?
As of tommoro i am no longer providing hot evening meals and am replacing them with a snack so the children can eat at home with their parents.
I was going to offer them a peace of fruit each night after school then possibly a biscuit about 5.30pm if they dont go home till 6pm to keep them going, does this sound ok? My OH says they will get bored with fruit and that i should offer different stuff

Chatterbox Childcare
13-06-2010, 02:28 PM
I wouldn't give them biscuits half an hour before they go home but maybe beans on toast when they come in from school and 6pm collection is late

sweets
13-06-2010, 02:28 PM
kids are usually starving after school so what about

toast, toasted teacakes, crumpets, cup of soup and bread, breadsticks and dips, pancakes, yogurts, an ice-cream, bagel, croissant.

cant think of any more at mo!

sillysausage
13-06-2010, 02:32 PM
I give fruit plus something else which might be toast, crumpets, malt loaf, homemade bun/biscuit, sandwich. They need to clear the fruit plate first otherwise I judge that they are not that hungry, likewise if they get down from the table and go play. One mindee is always extremely hungry after school and will demolish all the fruit plus cheese sandwiches made with 4 slices of bread, then go home and have a full tea. Naturally this child is built like a stick and has hollow legs. Thankfully this mindee only comes twice a week otherwise my cupboards would be bare lol!!:laughing:

mushpea
13-06-2010, 06:25 PM
so do you give them the choice every nite of the things you all said or do you say tonight its toast tommoro its fruit cake etc? or would you say somthing like its cheese on toast or fruit today?
I dont want snack to be complicated, just a quick and easy thing to do after school so they can then go and play or , when i put it up, all go outside and then those who want to can go in the pool.

Monkey26
13-06-2010, 06:30 PM