PDA

View Full Version : Your other halves/partners/husbands/Wives

vickieford85
01-06-2010, 05:18 PM
I am fairly new to the childminding game less than 6 months in but it is seriously having a bad effect on my marriage.

My husband really isn't coping with having children in the house all day. I don't really have a choice when it comes to the job, my husband works shifts since having our youngest child, we can't afford childcare however I need to bring in a wage to cover our bills.

How is everyone else other halves about it?

Curly Quavers
01-06-2010, 05:22 PM
In what way is he not coping? Sleeping through the day?

My OH works shifts and tbh it hasn't changed us very much at all. He knows how much of a difference my money makes to our life so he knows just to get on with it.

angiemog
01-06-2010, 05:26 PM
My husband works shifts too. He is very laid back and it doesn't bother him at all. We don't have children of our own so it has been a big change. However due to the long hours I now work and the mess the house gets in.... he does have to help more. We have discussed it a few times and he likes the money I bring in too much to complain. :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
He calls helping me his part time job. The children all love him. x

vickieford85
01-06-2010, 05:29 PM
We argue (when mindees aren't there), because he no longer has the time to watch his programmes on the telly as I feel they are unappropreaiate.
The noise level, the fact that he feels he can't relax once in from work or going out to work.
The amount of toys etc etc the list could go on and on. He doesn't do a night shift thankfully.

I have already resorted to finding mums and tots, childminder groups etc on every morning so that when he is on afternoons he has the house to himself. But I feel every time i do something to try and improve it makes matter worse and it no longer feels like home and he shouldn't have to go into a bedroom to watch the telly.

Ben10mad
01-06-2010, 05:35 PM