PDA

View Full Version : Cognitive Development

venus89
20-05-2010, 06:47 PM
What kind of things would you say come under cognitive development? I have to say how I'm meeting the learning needs of a child for my DHC5 and I've drawn a blank there. A bit embarassing as I studied psychology at uni so I really should know :blush: The child is very nearly 2.....

The Juggler
20-05-2010, 06:51 PM
cognitive development is to do with learning so I don't know how you would seperate it really but I'm guessing they mean subject areas perhaps as opposed to PSED type learning and development.

However, you could argue until they have the PSED elements underway, motivation, concentration, behaviour, self-control they can't really gain any headway in cognitive development.

sorry don't think that was much help:blush:

venus89
20-05-2010, 06:56 PM
No, it was thankyou! I only need to have something to show my tutor on Saturday - she can correct me if I'm barking up the wrong tree!

I was hoping to bump into you - I got confirmation today that I'm on the EYPS short pathway.... have you got any further with it? Now I'm beginning to panic over the logistics of it......

The Juggler
20-05-2010, 08:23 PM
No, it was thankyou! I only need to have something to show my tutor on Saturday - she can correct me if I'm barking up the wrong tree!

I was hoping to bump into you - I got confirmation today that I'm on the EYPS short pathway.... have you got any further with it? Now I'm beginning to panic over the logistics of it......