PDA

View Full Version : What to do for the best?

celdemorg
20-05-2010, 08:22 AM
Right, here we go, I have posted concerns before about a lo. I look after a couple of hours a day, 3 days a week, whom i've had a couple of months, after the first couple of weeks, I felt something wasn't quite right.

He hasn't arried yet, so I thought i'd do this post. The lo is 2 yrs old, and I think he's showing autistic tendancies, but mum doesn't seem to think that there's anything wrong (There always seems to be an excuse for any of this actions, behaviour etc):( Obviously I'm no expert, but I do have a friend who's son is going through tests re: ASD, and I've been on Autism Awareness course, so I have a basic idea what some of the symptoms could be. I'm going to list all the little things he does/doesn't do, I understand some children do do some of the things that he does, but I'm putting all of these so called symptoms together iyswim, so I'd like one of you lovely cm's to see what you think:

Doesn't talk yet, just babbles and squeals really high pitched squeals.

Doesn't intertact of acknowledge any of the other children around him.

Don't think I've ever seen him laugh or smile, if he has on the odd occasion laugh it's been quite out of the blue for no apparent reason, say in the back of the car?!

Will stack of line up any toy, ie jigsaw pieces, books, shoes, play food or anthing he's in contact with, doesn't play with any of the toys, just tends to line them up or throw things - I know children do this, but usually with cars, trains, blocks etc.

Grinds his teeth constantly.

Makes a funny groaning noise everytime he eats, he still can't feed himself, just looks at the food, or fingers in it, but it never goes to his mouth.

Won't touch anything, ie: sand, pasta, water, playdough, paint, won't hold anything it paintbrushes, food, so I find it quite hard to get him to join in with craft work or messy play.