PDA

View Full Version : From one of the older minders lol

maz 123
30-03-2010, 05:52 PM
:) Hi everyone
I have been a member for a while.but not posted for a while.I have been childminding for twenty years now. since the new ofsted registrations have come in I find I am continually struggling to keep up with all the paperwork.
At the momentI am considering giving up minding. I will be due for anothe ofsted inspection in 2 years.
I think all the aspects are good but just find that the paperwork and keeping up with everything is so time consuming. this is realy sad as looking after the children is the most rewarding work. I love the children and they love coming.I dont know if any of the other childminders feel the same but it would be great to hear from anyone. :panic:

mama2three
30-03-2010, 05:57 PM
sorry you feel like that maz - we need experience in the profession , i rely on everyones years of wisdom to help me as a new minder. As for paperwork , once my system such as it is was up and running it doesnt take much to keep on top of...youre probably doing plenty as it is! maybe ask your do/ dw to come out and have a look? the fact that you have happy children and parents shows that you shouldnt quit!

Trouble
30-03-2010, 05:59 PM
speak to your development worker and see if they can help:D

i cant be bothered to do any at the moment im hoping to do some soon as im getting far behind:blush:

miffy
30-03-2010, 06:00 PM
Hi Maz

I've been childminding for over twenty years too and I know what you mean about the paperwork - it's sure changed a lot since I first decided to register!

I hate paperwork for paperwork's sake. It's not even that I disagree with EYFS (a lot of it makes sense) and I like the records I'm keeping of what I do with the children.

I think you've said the most important thing - you love the children and they love coming to you - that is what matters more than anything so, as long as you have got the legal stuff covered why worry?

Miffy xx