PDA

View Full Version : Meals

NaggyNat
28-03-2010, 08:17 AM
Good morning everyone!!!

Well, I met one of the children who starts tomorrow....she is a fussy eater and will only eat nuggets, fish fingers and pizza!!! I have her every day and other children too but I don't like giving children this kind of food but guess its gonna be hard to give J fish fingers and M something like shepherds pie cos M will no doubt want the fish fingers.

May seem really trivial but wondered if you have any tips??

I am a newbie who starts tomorrow...

Thanks, Natalie xx

Tinglesnark
28-03-2010, 08:31 AM
well, my own children (one very fussy and the other that eats all in sight) it was trial and error to find the things that they do both enjoy. i think you will have to just have to try to encourage the children to try new tastes. how old are they? old enough to help make the meals? if so i know that helps us greatly. ds1 usually enjoys trying something if he has at the very least helped me to dish it up. he likes to tell me how much to put on his plate too - i do find that they can be overfaced with portion sizes.
good luck and try not to stress over it - you will find your way

:thumbsup:

amirose
28-03-2010, 08:34 AM
Kids very often eat things with you they won't eat at home, is mum happy for you to try feeding other things?

I have attached my current 2 week menu to give you some ideas of what I feed the children. I try and put a couple of meals I know the kids will eat and mix them with things I would like them to try.

I also like to get the kids involved in the menu - we talk about the meals they like/don't like but I also use it as an opportunity to talk about healthy and unhealthy foods. Of course I don't know how old J is so may not be possible for you do that.

green puppy
28-03-2010, 08:55 AM