PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Parent terminating contract

adedwards68
27-03-2010, 08:43 AM
Hi
I'm fairly new to childminding, but have come across a problem. I have been minding a little girl for a few weeks, her mum phoned me Tues morning and said that she couldn't afford to bring her to me anymore. She had been doing temp work (I didn't know this when I took her on) and apparently has got a new job but has got to wait 6-8 weeks for a CRB check. She said that she knows she supposed to give 4 weeks notice but hasn't got the money.
It took me by surprise, and I don't particularly like discussing things over the phone.
I then wrote her letter explaining that the contract she signed states 4 weeks notice and that the termination would need to be put in writing. I offered to let her pay the owed money (4 weeks notice and 3 days of childcare) over a number of weeks. I sent it recorded and I know she received it on Wednesday.
I haven't heard anything from her yet.
How long should I give her to respond?
When should I contact NCMA as I am a member and used their contracts.
I now know that I should take money in advance but know if a parent is only just starting a job they haven't always got the money upfront.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

youarewhatyoueat
27-03-2010, 09:05 AM
Is she going to be using you when she starts her new job??

miffy
27-03-2010, 09:10 AM
Poor you, that's not a very nice way to start your childminding career!

I think NCMA will advise that you put the invoice in writing (which you've done) and then you have to give her time to respond.

I'd give them a ring on Monday to check.

Did your contracts include a settling in period? This is on the front of the contract and usually means either party can terminate the contract within the first 4 weeks without having to give notice. It doesn't mean she needn't pay you for the work you've already done.

Good luck

Miffy xx

angeldelight
27-03-2010, 09:13 AM