PDA

View Full Version : Tidy up time resources being broken

sophiemarie
23-03-2010, 06:54 PM
Hi all I have just started childminding in to my 3rd week and loving it. I have a playroom but the children seem to want to come into the lounge do you think I am being reasonable to expect the children to go and play with the toys in there it is large enough. I am using the lounge as a quiet room and a room to have our food.
Also do you think I could have a tidy up time 15 mins before parents come in the playroom as it gets totally trashed I used to work in preschool and we always had tidy up time but childminding is very different.
Could anyone give me ideas of their typical day as I don't get 5 mins to do anything is this normal lol!!!!
Thanks for any advice:) :)

francinejayne
23-03-2010, 07:00 PM
I'm new to chidminding too, only be registered a month, but have already decided we have tidy up time 15 mins before mum comes to pick up, and from then on the children are told they know that anything they get out they have to put away agiain. And I don't mind a few toys out, but definitely not loads.
And I've also started (today!) taking the children into the hall to put their coat and shoes on when mum pulls up outside, and I'm leaving mum standing on the doormat - I'm discovering if I don't it takes 15 mins to get them out of the house, and as I've now got 2 families it was taking a full half an hour for everyone to go home, and I just wasn't getting tea done!

sandy64
23-03-2010, 07:04 PM
hi i have a playroom but we do bring toys into the lounge sometimes,but no if thats your working room then say no you could maybe say we could do storytime in the lounge. the lo are still getting use to there new surroundings. i also do tidy up time 15mins before home time then let them watch tv or get books out. or maybe the odd toy but everythink else is tidy ready for next day. glad your enjoying childminding:laughing:

mamasheshe
23-03-2010, 07:09 PM