PDA

View Full Version : Tricky one

BlondeMoment
18-03-2010, 10:01 AM
Hi there childminders!

I had a lo visit with her mum yesterday and her Mum says that in no way is she to ever be involved with anything to do with halloween.
I'm very new to childminding so am wondering how to go about this. Surely we are supposed to embrace all the the special days in the year to give the children a multi cultural experience. I can't leave it out completely. But it would be awful to have to send her into another room. She's very little so wouldn't understand.

I explained to the mother that it would be difficult to avoid it al together but I could certainly give her something else to do if we make things. But what about games we may want to play?

I know Halloween is a long way off but this has really baffled me.

Any ideas would be helpful

Many thanks

lisa x

The Juggler
18-03-2010, 12:25 PM
Well you could just decide not to do Halloween again or, tell her you will do Halloween but offer her lo something else to do. however, explain to her if her lo wants to join in with the others, you can't really stop her.

Personally, I would tell her it's part of the EYFS to celebrate different events/festivals and it's inclusion rather than exclusion that's important.

Or, you can tell her when you're doing Haloween activities and she can choose not to bring the child:p

Mollymop
18-03-2010, 12:38 PM
I wouldn't stop doing my special activities and themes because of one child, what about all the other children, they would miss out - I would notify mum in advance what we would be doing at halloween and then if she isn't happy to bring her child or her child to be involved she can make other arrangement for that day

At Halloween we have a party, we decorate the house, carve pumpkins, Halloween games - we spend all day celebrating. The children all look frward to it. So it would be hard to not include a child in hallween activities in my setting.

:)

Twinkles
18-03-2010, 01:31 PM