PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed

sophiemarie
13-03-2010, 08:50 AM
Hi all just completed my first week and have lovely children and parents.
I was a nursery nurse and worked with 3 year olds a setting of children the same age.
I have two children all day one is 18 months and the other 3 years and I am struggling a little with planning and setting up my playroom for both ages.
I have spent quite alot on new resources for my playroom and they just chuck them on the floor and walk over them is this normal developmental level for an 18 month. I am not being precious over my resources and I love to see children play and don't mind mess but this is chaos.
A friend suggested not putting so much out but what do I do about free choice and a stimulating environment.
Saying this I have only been minding for a week but love it even if it is a very hard job. I love the interaction you can have with the children compared to nursery.
Thanks in advance for any advice you can give its great to have this site:) :)

angeldelight
13-03-2010, 08:55 AM
I know just what you mean

Its only your first week and early days yet though so why dont you set the rules in motion now - set your ground rules

Explain how we dont walk over the toys encourage them to tidy up if they are not playing with something

Maybe just set a few boxes out and see how it goes from there - get to know them and see what they like

It is a new setting for the children and they are prob loving the freedom they have no idea what is acceptable and what is not - plus they are getting to know you and know the other children
They will also test you

Set your rules gently from the start - guide them and by watching them play you will get to know what their interests are

Dont try so hard - forget about the planning and everything at the moment and enjoy being with the children and getting to know them

Good luck

Angel xx

sophiemarie
13-03-2010, 08:56 AM
thank you will try your advice x

jo f
13-03-2010, 09:03 AM