PDA

View Full Version : Working Term Time Only

bexcee
10-03-2010, 02:42 PM
I currently look after just one lo three days a week. Her mum is a teacher so I only have her during term time.
In the past I have worked throughout the year but found it very hard work in the holidays when I could have up to six children.
My problem is that I really need to take on another lo to make it worth my while minding however I have decided now that I only want to work term time (I have children of my own).
I have been advertising for several months but had no enquries. I am guessing it is becuase of the term time only thing although other childminders in the area have lots of spaces too.
Should I compromise and work the holidays? Or stick to what I want and hope the right family will be along soon?

grindal
10-03-2010, 02:55 PM
When I first started minding I advertised for term time only as DH is a teacher and we wanted holidays as a family. However, in the end I had to compromise and my first mindee was full time. Now, as an established minder I am a bit more confident about advertising term time only spaces. Have you tried sending some info to local schools to try and attract teachers? If you need the money then offer full time, if not stick to term time only. Something is bound to turn up eventually.

yummymummy
10-03-2010, 03:48 PM
I really wanted term time only but found only before and after schoolies interested in this. Now I have found a compromise in working all year but three days only. This gives me so much freedom in being able to make doctors and dental appointments etc and although I do work 3 days in the holidays, on these days we arrange for my daughter to see friends and I get 2days to devote to my daughter (other one at uni).
I wish that I had done this from the start of my childminding as I regret not really having much time for my own children.

Chatterbox Childcare
10-03-2010, 03:51 PM