PDA

View Full Version : becoming a development officer

julie w
18-02-2010, 01:01 AM
I've been childminding for over 10 years now and I love my job. However to be realistic I know I cant do it forever, and I coming to the stage where I want to do more, and to be honest, get my home back. I like the thought of becoming a development officer, where I could help other chidminders, but where do I start? Can anyone advise me? Thank you.

specks4
18-02-2010, 08:42 AM
Hi

I applied for the development officer in my area but didnt even get a interview, but later found out it was always going to be offered to another person but never mind.

To find out if there are any vacancies you go to the NCMA website and go to jobs and if there are any vacancies for development officers they will be advertised on there. Then you just complete the application form and write a personal statement covering the job spec and then wait to see if you get a interview.

Here is the link
http://www.*************/about_ncma/work_for_us/vacancies.aspx

Good luck

The Juggler
18-02-2010, 09:14 AM
some local authorities employ directly (i.e. don't use NCMA workers) so contact your local early years dept and ask to speak to the manager.

That's what I'd like to do in a year or so too so let me know how you get on.

Mollymop
18-02-2010, 12:29 PM
I know the Do's in our area have level 4's or more - one of them used to tutor Level 3. I am not sure but I thnk you have to have experience of these kinds of things, but might be wrong

Good luck x

jaja
18-02-2010, 02:16 PM