PDA

View Full Version : Accreditited. Shall I bother or not

PaulaR
13-02-2010, 12:29 PM
I have started the accreditation process but there is so much they are expecting of me that I am trying to weigh up if its worth it. I thought it was a good idea when I started.
I have to do a business plan , commit to 24 hours of training a year, which will be in the evenings and weekends, register with enviromental health, hand over a copy of my SEF, update my policies etc and all this before I start the strict planning and deliver the education side of it. Then have visits.
All this takes away from actually caring for the kids.
I think I've made up my mind, I'm not going to bother.

francinejayne
13-02-2010, 01:13 PM
sorry for asking what is probably a daft question, but seeing as I'm new to all this I will ask anyway, what does it mean to be accredited?
thanks!

beccas
13-02-2010, 01:51 PM
it means you can offer the free entitlement for 3 year olds. you know free 15 hours a week of childcare paid for by government

francinejayne
13-02-2010, 02:12 PM
thanks! :thumbsup:

fridaysoff
13-02-2010, 02:39 PM
I am also looking at it - been asked by two parents about doing it now... extra work puts me off too, but thought it might be a chance to meet new CM's and share more ideas which might gee me up a bit... don't know what to do:(

13-02-2010, 02:39 PM
I know exactly what you mean :( . I have just started the process of joining the network and becoming accredited but the paperwork seems endless and there is so much to do. Already spend my week being really busy with the kids that I look after and then Saturdays it's cleaning the house top to bottom and Sunday it's a minimum of 4 hours paperwork....if not longer :( . I just feel that becoming accredited is going to make my life harder and not easier :panic:

Winnie
13-02-2010, 02:56 PM