PDA

View Full Version : Child Minding Advice?

Bubbles1
03-02-2010, 04:12 PM
Hi there,

I have wanted to work & care for children for a long time & more recently taken a keen interest in childminding. I am presently an Accounts manager which I have been for 7 years.

I am not registered as yet as still trying to assess the pro's & con's to see if it is the right career change for me.

I am 36 years young and also 4 1/2 months pregnant with my 1st child & maybe looking to follow down the childminding path nearer the end of the year (my due date is 12th July).

Please can you give me your advice to the pro's & cons of the job..

Thank you kindly!:thumbsup:

Blaze
03-02-2010, 04:17 PM
I would start the registration process as it can take up to 9 months to complete!

TBH - I would stay employed take your full year maternity leave -& register whilst on it - return to work for six weeks so you don't have to repay anything & then start minding - that's what i would do if i was in your position.

Good luck for the future:)

Pipsqueak
03-02-2010, 04:18 PM
Pros:

its a great job - hard work but very rewarding, different everyday
you are paid to play (or thats the way I look at it)
you can earn a good income
you are at home for your own
you are self employed

Cons:
you are self employed - work might not be regular
payment issues, behaviour issues
a fair amount of paperwork initially and then the upkeep
lots of toys/equipment/resources - it can feel that you house has been taken over
childminding is hard work

thats just a few, I think if you are organised and in a positive frame of mind about it, it can work out really well.
I enjoy my work (99% of the time):thumbsup:

Bubbles1
03-02-2010, 09:07 PM
I would start the registration process as it can take up to 9 months to complete!