PDA

View Full Version : what should I do?

LeeAnn
02-02-2010, 09:46 AM
as with all my posts this is likely to be long and confusing!

I have 2 issues at the moment, I am hoping writing them down may help me to sort my head out and hoping for some experience maybe.

Issue 1 - I was given notice for a mindee, C , due to her Dad not working at the moment. Her Dad called me last night asking if I could do today. I agreed as obv I need the money. Now the 4 week notice oeriod would be up this week, BUT they gave me 4 weeks pay in lieu of notice , so am I within my rights to charge for today? I am confused.

issue 2 - It is likely that C will come back to me in April time when her Dad's work picks up a bit. But again it will probably be seasonal, big hours in the summer and then cut back in winter. I told them I would advertise and seeing as they aren't paying a retainer I am not technically holding the place.
I had an enquiry last night from a parent. The hours really aren't enough for me but at this moment it is better than not earning at all. The problem is that if I say yes then I will be earning some money right now, but also means I wouldn't be able to take C back in April, as I would have 4 under 5 which isn't allowed.

Short term I could take the LO but can't see it being enough for me long term :panic: I am scared to turn her down as this is the first enquiry I have had

LisaMcNally09
02-02-2010, 09:52 AM
Answering your first issue i dont think you can charge as they have paid already for that day....i know they said they didnt need the place but i think you have to be available if they do IYSWIM

Your 2nd issue is a tough one...i would take the work personally as anything could happen with the other one.....anything could also happen with your other mindees and as no contracts have been signed for original mindee to start in April i wouldnt take the chance.

hth

rainbowmummy
02-02-2010, 09:53 AM