PDA

View Full Version : Here goes

Alak123
10-12-2007, 06:59 PM
Hi :)

Shiny newbie here only joined today, but have just sat down after saying my hello's to you all and remebered a niggle that parent said to me tonight.

She is taking mindee to a funeral this week on a day I normally have him and has asked me where she stands on fees??? I have bought myself some time and said I would check my policies and procedures and let her know tomorrow. Same parent has done this before in taking a 1 day holiday and giving me 2/3 days notice and not paid me for that day, or expected me to do another day that suits her.

:panic: I will stop moaning on my first day, its just my OH's ears are getting a break and thinks forum is fantastic idea.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

I can see why this becomes an addiction:clapping:

sarah707
10-12-2007, 07:47 PM
It really depends on what is written in your contracts... and what the parent is like.

It sounds like she does not want to pay you - I have this problem with parents, they sign the contract and then turn round later and say why should they pay me when they looked after their child.

TBH I usually leave it as I a. don't want bad feeling; b. don't want to lose the child; c. am luckily busy at the moment so it doesn't matter as much; d. can't be doing with the hassle (it's a small town, they're all inter-related etc)

I know others on here will say I am wrong and they will always hold out for the fees. Some would not mind the child again until they get what is due to them. There is no right or wrong way to behave.

This is a personal decision I think - sorry I'm not being much help am I?? It really is down to your contract and what you feel you want to enforce with the parent

carolinel
10-12-2007, 10:14 PM
Hi :)

Shiny newbie here only joined today, but have just sat down after saying my hello's to you all and remebered a niggle that parent said to me tonight.