PDA

View Full Version : At my wits end!!!!

PRINCESSDAISYFLOWER
27-01-2010, 12:29 PM
This is going to be a long post!!!

So i have been minding a boy X since he was 9 months old, he is now 3. he has recently come back after spending 6 months with his mum whilst on maternity leave. I dont like labbeling children naughty but he has always been a naughty boystrous lad. Well he has come back to me a terror. Take today for example he was spiting so i told him to stop as its not nice, I then got a load of abuse "i hate u, ur stupid" etc, was kicked, punched scratched and bitten. At this point i had had enough and called his dad who came and picked him up leaving is little sister who we also minds with us.

His dad told him he wasnt going to nursery this afternoon which he loves and has to stay in his room for the rest of the day. His parents do dicipline him and are also disgusted by his behaviour so they dont let him get away with things.

But i have tried everything, loads of positive praise, reward charts, stickers etc but nothing works. One of my other mindees told me today she is scared of X.

Giving notice is not really an option, any ideas guys?

suzyblue
27-01-2010, 12:38 PM
I had a child this this years ago and I managed to turn his behaviour around. All kids are different though but I played with him on the floor and as soon as he started hitting me I told him that wasnt a nice way to play and turned away for a few minutes. After a minute or so I would turn around and start having fun playing with him again until he did it again. After about 1-2 weeks he stopped doing it and played nicely. It was really rewarding to see. I would use a lot of praise when he behaved and take my attention away from him when he didnt. I worked at a nursery however so I could concentrate on this little boy while other staff looked after the other children.
Good luck!

madredann
27-01-2010, 12:41 PM