PDA

View Full Version : First Tax return - please help!

louloulunchbox
23-01-2010, 12:20 PM
Hi Everyone, I'm new to this and wondered if someone would advise me. I became a registered minder in March 2008 but didnt begn working/registered as self employed until Sept 08. I'm just doing my tax return for 08/09. Do I do Sept 08 until 5th April 09 or a full year, up until Sept 09? Please help, I'm feeling completely paniced! Wishing I'd got an accountant now, but too late and need to sort it all myself. Als I just registered to do my tax return on line and I see that I need to be sent a user ID..which could take 7 days! Will I get a fine now? This is a bit of a nitemare! :panic: Thanks

beccas
23-01-2010, 02:53 PM
you do till end of tax year in april. I use ncma accounts book its so much easier as it all works out itself at the end of book. would recommend it about fine i have no idea. hopefully it will come before 31st jan i think thats cut off date isnt it.

SusieQ
23-01-2010, 03:09 PM
I'd give them - tax office - a quick call and tell them you are ready to file return - slight fib but hey - and ask them to note on your file that you are awaiting user id that way down the line if they fine you there is proof of the delay. New to this myself but not to self employment and i think they'd rather know. NCMA book good and if member its lots chaeper and easier method good luck

sarah707
23-01-2010, 03:13 PM
Tax year runs april to april as Beccas says... so you need to show books from the day you started earning from minding to the beginning of April 2009.

This year will then run April 2009 to april 2010.

Hth :D

carlen222
23-01-2010, 04:20 PM
best of luck to you!!! im dreading all this!!!!! xx

SandCastles
23-01-2010, 04:48 PM