PDA

View Full Version : Feel like I must be the worst Childminder in the country...

helendee
16-01-2010, 06:01 PM
Sorry to come on here for a moan but I feel so stressed at the moment. I really struggle with EYFS and what is expected of us, especially with paperwork as it seems to me there are no formal guidelines as to how we should observe and plan.

Also it seems that Childminding becomes more complicated every day, I look through here and other sites and it seems like everyone has Story sacks and Sensory baskets and all sorts of lovely resources that I don't seem to have enough imagination to create.

I have been childminding for over fifteen years, starting under Social Services when it was a whole different ball game and I don't seem to have moved with the times unfortunately.

My skills are very much hands on with the little ones, nurturing and loving and caring for them but as to activites and thinking up new ideas I am rubbish!!!:(

Pipsqueak
16-01-2010, 06:09 PM
Aw hunny you are NOT the worst minder in the world, if you were you certainly would not be bothered by anything, let alone posting on here.

The trick is to see what everyone else is up to and see what works for you. none of us do something exactly the same as anyone else, so not all of us have story sacks etc - what we might do is have an alternative version, I personally have a story box - a shoe box and i fill it with things related to a particular story. Much more managable for me.

The other thing - a forum that is (growing) so large as this there is bound to be TONS of ideas and advice, the other trick is going through all ! lol You can't do it all but more its a platform for inspiration and support.