PDA

View Full Version : Aspergers Advice please!

lizzymoonshine
07-03-2008, 12:27 PM
Hi

Just wanted a bit of advice (taking my mind off osted coming!)

I've just had a lady ring me who wants me to care for her 14 year old daughter who has mild Aspergers.

I have no experience and only know a little about it, just wondered if anyone could offer me any advice as i don't want to turn this lady away, want to be able to offer the best possible care.

miffy
07-03-2008, 12:37 PM
I care for a little boy with aspergers and have also cared for a girl with it in the past

I have some info from a training course i went on about it - there is a good support group in Notts but mum may be part of this already

Am going out in a mo but will sort it out when I come back and pm you

miffy xx

katickles
07-03-2008, 12:37 PM
There was a great thread on this maybe 3 or 4 weeks ago (could even be more!) One of the ladies children has this so was full of advice, will see if i can find it :)

oakie dokie
07-03-2008, 12:38 PM
offer her the place, let her come to see you, treat her the same as the others. Ask parent all the questions you feel you need to. if its very mild you may not even tell she has asperges. Do not be put off. i looked after my friends little girl, we didnt know at the time she had asperges but we did know things were not quite right, her triggers were things like telly tubbies, couldnt stand to see them or hear them so we just didnt have them on, or the soft toy ones out when she was here.

good luck, im not very good at explaining myself, but go for it.

hazelx

mamapink
07-03-2008, 12:38 PM
hello

have a look on this site www.aspies.co.uk

sorry do not have any personal experience to share with you

bye pink:o

Splish Splosh
07-03-2008, 12:53 PM