PDA

View Full Version : Free entitlement for 3 and 4 year olds.

Tink
17-12-2009, 03:08 PM
Does anyone know how I can claim for this entitlement? and does anyone else claim it?
A parent has phoned and asked me if I have it?
I found this:
Three and four year olds in England are entitled to a minimum 12.5 hours of free learning per week for 38 weeks of the year. This can take place in nurseries, playgroups, preschools or at their childminders.

Winnie
17-12-2009, 03:26 PM
Around here you have to be on an Accredited Network, have a Level 3 and jump through the hoops ;)

Tink
17-12-2009, 03:31 PM
I'm a qualified nursery nurse with an NVQ level 3 in Early Years Care and Education:D and worked in a nursery for over 9 years

Pipsqueak
17-12-2009, 04:30 PM
Doesn't matter hun - you have to be on an accreditated network ie Children Come First or the LA equivelent to deliver the 3/4 year free places. Sorry. Contact your DO and see if there is a network that you can join. There is strict criteria though

Tink
17-12-2009, 04:33 PM
Ok thank you

sdean
17-12-2009, 09:34 PM
I have just joined the Leeds Network and become accredited. It was really straight forward. Contact your early years department and speak to your development officer.

I had to complete some forms regarding practices and early learning goals and agree to the network policies and also have a visit every 6 to 8 weeks. Straight forward enough. In Leeds it has opened up more training and pilot programmes too. Well worth it even if you haven't yet got any NEG children.

beccas
18-12-2009, 10:49 AM
rotherham council says there isnt enough call for it so childminders arent able to offer this at all even though all nurserys children centres can and even politing 2 year olds!!!!

make me mad that they wont even allow childminders to be accredited (not enough funding).....

sdean
18-12-2009, 11:00 AM