PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with fees etc.............HELP!!!!

Auntie charlotte
05-03-2008, 08:58 PM
I had someone come 4 a visit couple days ago n we discussed everything. She wasnt wantin 2 start until a couple months so i said ther would b a retainer fee as im quite new to this i said it would be my usual fee for that period she phoned back and said she wanted to go ahead with things but questioned the retainer fee so i did a bit more research by lookin at the forums on this and rethought my fee for this period and put it 2 her as 50% after this she got bk in contact n said she was going to choose a diffrent option which i am soo gutted about. i dont know if i over stepped the mark with my fees, it would have been quite expensive as she was looking for full time mon-fri care, any suggestions pls help?!?!

mum2two
05-03-2008, 09:05 PM
In your situation, I would have charged a deposit. I charge a non-refundable £50 deposit if the space isn't needed within 4 weeks. Once they start the £50 is deducted off the first invoice, but not if they don't use the space.

I would only charge a retainer if say it was a term time only contract, and would charge 50% retainer fees during the hols to keep the space open.

It's such a big learning journey!! You learn from every family you meet & take on...

Hope you get lots more calls soon.

Kelly x

miffy
05-03-2008, 09:10 PM
She may have found someone who had a vacancy coming up in two months time and so she wouldn't have had to pay a retainer or a deposit.

Miffy xx

mum2two
05-03-2008, 09:30 PM
She may have found someone who had a vacancy coming up in two months time and so she wouldn't have had to pay a retainer or a deposit.

Miffy xx

But I haven't got a space until Sept, and a lady called for care from July. When she came out, she agreed to juggle things til Sept, and has paid me a £50 deposit so I don't give the space to anyone else from Sept.