PDA

View Full Version : Just started thinking about childminding and worried already!

EileenB
03-12-2009, 09:45 PM
Hey I've just started looking into registering as a childminder (I'm in Scotland). I know I need to get registered with the Care Commission. I'm a bit concerned though. I live in a flat - is that likely to be an issue? Is there anyone on here who childminds in a flat? how do you find it?
As I'm a total noob at this I'd appreciate any advice really, especially if there's anything in particular I need to be aware of in Scotland.
Thanks in advance,
Eileen.

sarah707
04-12-2009, 08:35 AM
Welcome to the forum Eileen!

You need to get in touch with your local Care Commission area office and speak to them.

they will give you all the information you need about setting up as a childminder in Scotland including paperwork you need to fill in and the regulations for childminding.

There are courses to attend and Disclosures to get for all adults in the house and visits from Care Commission... it's going to be a busy time for you!

Good luck and don't forget to let us know how you are getting on :D

I will move your post to the Scottish area of the forum so that other Scottish members are more likely to see it :thumbsup:

Blackhorse
04-12-2009, 10:00 AM
Hi Eileen,

Welcome to the forum!! You found the right place for advice.

I know a couple of childminders that work from flats so I know it can be done.
Obviously depending on the space you have (and it might be a gigantic flat I dont know) but if it is small you might not get registered for you full amount of kids, but this is up to your Care Commission officer to decide.
You will obviously have to think about how you get up and down if you are high up with lots of little ones but I wouldnt worry to much about it to be honest.