PDA

View Full Version : Anyone not do written planning?

claireodon
09-11-2009, 09:12 PM
Hi, just wondering whether everyone does written planning or if there is anyone who doesn't? I tried to do written plans right at the start but we never stuck to anything and it took ages to do the paperwork. I plan through continuous provision, I have a folder of activity ideas and religious festival dates and I do have plans for the week (to ensure I have sufficient resources) - I just don't write it down. I do a learning journal with next steps and to me it is more logical just to follow that and you will see in the ongoing obs that I am implementing the next steps. However, I am new to all this and don't know what Ofsted will make of my logic ;) Just interested to hear what feedback other people have had from Ofsted re planning.

sweets
09-11-2009, 09:17 PM
i dont really do written planning. according to my ofsted inspector and my DW it is not necc.

the only written plans i do are next steps (short term planning) and ive also got a list of birthdays and festivals(long term planning). every 8 weeks or so i do a summary of learning for each child in their learning journeys to see where they are in the EYFS and the 6 areas and do next steps for that 2 (medium term planning).

Chatterbox Childcare
09-11-2009, 09:19 PM
Different views on this. My ofsted inspector wanted to see some written planning where as my next door neighbour has a weekly plan which she laminated and then rubbed it out at the end of the month.

I do a rough plan but do not link it or go into detail until the obs is done as there are different outcomes for different ages.

Zoomie
09-11-2009, 10:20 PM
When my DW came and saw me a few months back, she asked if I did planning and I said no .... and then she asked me why I had certain toys out. Well they were out because J likes dolls and I likes animals and my DW showed me that I was actually doing planning - just not in a written form.