PDA

View Full Version : Do I need Business Class 1 or 2 car insurance?

Ritaroo
25-09-2009, 03:16 PM
New to childminding and just thought I should be covered in case I use the car for ferrying children. The policy is in my husbands name and I am a named driver. I phoned the insurance company who said I needed Business Class 2 however when I asked where the definition was in the policy book he couldn't find it. I looked it up on the internet and it seemed to saying that it covers named drivers who are working in the business of the MAIN DRIVER, this is my husband and it is not his business so I am now worried I am not covered. We know insurance companies will try to get out of paying for any reason.

I phoned back but still they couldn't clarfy it. I asked whether I should have Business class 1 as when I looked a definition of this up on the internet it covers main driver and spouse but was told no it only covers main driver. I am now very confused and frankly don't trust them to have got it right as they seemed to be trying to quote definitions based on what they could remember from their training. Can't believe they didnt seem to definately know so can anyone else who already has this situation tell me if this is correct. Thanks.

Pauline
25-09-2009, 03:25 PM
I'm a named driver on hubby's insurance, this is how ours reads:

This car is insured while being used for social, domestic and pleasure purposes, commuting to or from your permanent place of work and for use by the Regular driver or the regular driver's spouse in connection with their own business.

I suppose that could read either way couldn't it? Does the 'their' mean regular drivers business or spouses business? Or both?

(Luckily for us we are in the same business!)

Hope that helps.

:)

Ritaroo
25-09-2009, 03:29 PM
Do you know if this is classed as Business Class 1 or 2 or am I worrying needlessly? Just don't trust insurance companies.

Pauline
25-09-2009, 03:34 PM