PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - Do I give notice? Help!

Ritaroo
24-09-2009, 09:59 PM
I am new to childminding and have been looking after a baby for a few weeks and all is going well.

Took on a 5 yr old boy this week who is in my DS class and they have just started in reception. I am looking after him before and after school which is adding up to about 3 hours a day. My DS is just 4 and rather sensitive and the 5 yr old seems to have sensed this and is now starting to antagonise him even in the space of 4 days. He is only at our house for a fairly short space of time but manages to reek havoc. To be honest I am finding the mindee downright rude. I could put it down to being boisterous but for instance I tell him to stop jumping on the sofa and just get a sullen look along with a NO. This is quite apart from throwing things at DS2 and pulling DS1s hair.

He does what he is told eventually and says a half hearted sorry but I do not really have the energy to try and correct his behaviour in the long term, with a baby mindee and my own two boys. Also I do not want to upset my DS as starting a new school can be traumatic enough without this to contend with. I did have a chat with his Mum today when she came to collect to say I was monitoring the situation over the next couple of weeks. I put it down to the boys not getting along and having totally different characters.

Do you think I am giving up too soon ( I am really not a quitter but don't want to upset DS1) and is this par for the course with a child settling in who tries to pull his weight and push the boundaries. How would you go about displine in this case? The thing that crosses my mind is if he is so cocky and rude in 4 days what will he be like in 4 months?

Any advice please.

christine e
25-09-2009, 07:17 AM
Tbh I would probably give this a bit longer before I made any decisions but really if you are not happy and more importantly your own children are not happy then give notice.

Cx

wendywu