PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question?

daytimedolly
23-09-2009, 10:44 AM
Hiya,
I am a newbie childminder, still waiting for registration. Ive passed the Ofsted inspection but now waiting for paperwork from abroad where I used to live.

I seem to have been waiting forever and some days I dont feel like I will ever work :-( but............... just asking all you experienced ladies.

Are there any things that I could be doing now that I will thank myself for when starting childminding? Seems a shame to just sit and wait and although I dont have a huge amount of time on my hands I could be doing something.

Thanks

huggableshelly
23-09-2009, 10:49 AM
get familiar with EYFS, keep scouting the forum as there is so much here to use/learn from.

risk asssessments if you havent already done them.

menus what food are you offering, how will you manage cooking time with children in your care (I stopped cooking hot meals and was unable to manage playing and cooking).

check out local groups, where you would like to take children too, toddler groups, library story time etc.

I hoep that gives you a little starter whilst waiting xxx

MarpleJollytots
23-09-2009, 12:54 PM