PDA

View Full Version : Please help me :)

katie0183
15-09-2009, 08:19 PM
I have been childminding for 2 years and currently have a registration of 3 children under 5 years and 2 over. I have a 6 year old daughter (who is not included in these numbers) and have just had a baby boy. Im currently on Mat leave at the mo, but know i have to inform OFSTED that i now have a baby... this i assume reduces my numbers down to 2 children under 5 and 2 children over. However i wondered whether i could pull a cheeky. Before i had Ben (my son) i had 3 under 5's and then one left as mum lost her job (damn recession) so i was going to apply for a variation for continuity of care...
Anyway i've had an enquiry today for a little girl who's 2 years, her mum does shift work and is finding it really difficult for someone in our local area to accomodate this... I'm one of 2 childminders in the area who's open weekends and does occassional overnight care (although overnights not needed)
This little girl would therefore clash in my numbers but only on the occassional day, i've worked out the rest of the year and it works out to be 14 days in total. Its because i look after 1 little one mon to fri and the other only mon - wed (his mums a teacher so dont do half terms or holidays either)
How would i get round this? Or can i at all?
I feel i'm more than capable, the children i look after are fantastic and one of them will also be starting pre-school in January so will have him even less... just seems such a shame if i cant get round the situation for her. Any suggestions ? OR is this a total unrealistic idea?

Pipsqueak
15-09-2009, 08:25 PM
I would apply for a variation to keep myself covered. You never know who is watching or ready to report, if you go over your numbers you are working illegally and without insurance cover as well. For all these things Ofsted would come down on you really heavy.