PDA

View Full Version : ADHD?

charliegee
10-09-2009, 10:50 AM
Morning everyone

Hope you are all well - nearly the weekend now!

I had a question I wondered if anyone could help with

I have a mum and little boy (8) coming to see me tomorrow - lovely sounding mum wanting afterschool care for her son.

She has told me he has ADHD which is medicated and I wanted to know what peoples experiences were of working with children with ADHD as I've got no experience of it.

I've got two little ones under two and another afterschool (aged 5)

any advice would be greatly apprechiated as I don't know what to expect - I googled ADHD as I have no understanding of it - and found google results a bit confused - ranging for that children with ADHD can be very hyperactive - to that it goes un picked up for years.....I'm just very confused and wouldn't want to compromise the children already in my care (if that is the case)

(not meaning to be discriminatory - just wanting your advice so I understand it better and answer the mum's questions properly!)

thanks everyone!

x

PixiePetal
10-09-2009, 10:55 AM
My nephew and niece have it one is ADHD and the other ADD without the hyperactive bit!

Each case has their own difficulties to get over/used to.

Hebs has close experience and others on here too. I am sure they will be along soon. Better prepared than not.

Hebs
10-09-2009, 11:01 AM
hiya,

my son (who is 9) has ADHD

you MUST MUST MUST be consistant in your behaviour expectations, the good old give an inch take a mile fits perfectly

instructions must be clear (and probably need to be repeated as they forget easily)

ADHD kids tend to love art, as they have a dominant right brain, immature left brain (IYKWIM??)

ADHD kids can be very loving, not all are aggressive my son is certainly not cos he knows i wouldn't accept that type of behaviour