PDA

View Full Version : Help with 1st observation pleeaassee !!

charliebear
02-09-2009, 11:49 AM
Hi all,

I had my 1st ever mindee started yest for a couple of hrs i decided to just do free play so she could settle in with my boys.

She is coming this afternoon and i would really like to start thinking about an observation but really don't no where to begin, do i instigate what she plays with for an obs or do i just watch her ?? sorry if i sound stupid but getting in a right state over this (had NO sleep )!!!!!!!

Kelly x

Sally G
02-09-2009, 12:20 PM
Personally i would observe on free play to start with as she is new noting what she does and her interaction with others etc then link them wth the early learning goals etc, then as an extention pick a point that she can develop through a set adlut led activity but i am also new to this so others feel free to correct me as i am keen to learn! :blush:

FussyElmo
02-09-2009, 12:22 PM
Personally I would just watch her over the next few weeks on her likes and dislikes etc. Plenty of time to think about an observation once she is settled with you!!!

Debster
02-09-2009, 12:22 PM
Please don't stress about it its certainly not worth losing sleep over. I would not do a observation yet let the child settle in for at least a month that way you can extablish what they are interested in give plenty of free play and work from there so you discover sam likes to make marks on paper so provide oppotunities for her to use different materials eg making marks in sand or play - dough then maybe observe one of these activities

charliebear
02-09-2009, 12:28 PM
Hi ,

thanks for that,

From watching her yest and today i can see that she is very interested in trains, the dolls and my small dog, she is only 17 months and she said tilleys (the dog) name after only a couple of hrs !!

How would i write any of this up to be an observation and what would be my next steps....so sorry if i am asking too much !

Kellyxx:blush:

misst104