PDA

View Full Version : Will partners conviction ruin my chances?

festactown
29-08-2009, 05:08 PM
Hello everyone
I'm new to the forum, I hope I can get some advice. I have been working in a preschool for 2 years now and have decided that I would like to be a childminder after a lot of thought. I am married with 2 children aged 2 and 4 and live with my husband.
However my husband has an unspent criminal conviction (convicted 18 years ago and spent 4 years in prison for carrying drugs) . It is his only conviction and he has built a career from scratch since then. I know he will need a CRB check which we will obviously declare this. My question is - do you think it means an automatic no for me as a childminder? Should I not bother to apply? It would be such a shame as I would love to do it.
Thank you for any feedback
Festactown

sarah707
29-08-2009, 08:12 PM
Nobody knows what Ofsted will say until you apply and they get the results of your CRB checks.

Unfortunately that means you have to do the course first which will be a waste of your time if they then do not register you.

I suggest you take advice from both your local people and Ofsted, being as honest as possible about the conviction etc.

Good luck! :D

Pippa31
29-08-2009, 08:54 PM
Hi,

I would give Ofsted a ring and ask them. They will tell you what your chances are. Not really up on CRB's but from this forum people do have problems with partners pasts but do manage to work through it.

I am sure someone will be along with some advice soon....

Good Luck :)

Blaze
29-08-2009, 08:59 PM
I would go ahead - think it will mean an interview with your hubby & ofsted inspector - but as long as you are up-front about it, as it was such a long time ago & your hubby is now a different person & a daddy & he was a young foolish man at the time...don't think it will be a problem.:)

sarahbcrofts
29-08-2009, 09:41 PM