PDA

View Full Version : Help please!!!

butterflyAdam
26-08-2009, 09:10 AM
Hiya

I'm a newbie here and have been lurking ever since starting registration process. It is very different here in Ireland as it is done by Social Services.
I started the process as a friend had asked me about looking after her two children when she went back to work full time in September.

Had my inspection 3 weeks ago today. Was given 3 weeks we needed to do and Social Worker came yesterday to check they were done. She left saying that she would ring me when the registration certificate was ready so I could pick it up quickly to get insurance sorted before starting to look after the children next week.

That was at 10.30 am and at 4.40 pm she rang to say she was concerned about the raised lawn in our garden and is bringing her Senior SW out today to look at it. She said we may need to get a fence put around it! This is just not feasible option for us and I am really cross that she never mentioned this problem 3 weeks ago and is now effectively moving the goalposts 6 days before I start with my mindees.

Anyone else come across a problem like this?

Eleanor x

LittleMissSparkles
26-08-2009, 09:39 AM
how high is the raised garden ? Im not sure exactly what the height measurements are but anything over a certain height has to be safe for the children from falling a hurting themselves iyswim, we have a split level garden and have a retainer wall in the middle with small fencing on top if it for safety. Try not to worry to much if you do have to have a small fence it might not be as much as you think and will be worth it in the long run Im sure, i can see how frustrated it must be though for you

butterflyAdam
26-08-2009, 09:44 AM
Thanks for your reply. :)

Its a retaining wall and its 3 ft. I've 2 young children myself and have no problems with it. A fence would block out light from the house plus I would worry if they climb on it they could fall further.

E x

Demonjill